WHY WE HAY, DOAH?- Part 1

My ancestors right down the line to my grandparents sang ‘spirituals’ themed on leaving his unhappy, earthly realm.; as their lives were characterised by incessant futile toil, racism and extreme inequity. Yet they enjoyed the few spurts of happiness grudgingly given them by their Creator, they procreated and they lived.

It’s a … miracle that I’m even here.

This is where I am today, emotional, on the verge of tears for my ancestors but proud of the legacy they left me: A legacy of hard work and thankfulness even when you feel deep within your psyche and within every sinew of your dying body that God loves you but not that much. Words fail me to describe this, but if one merely glances at history and sees 300-plus years of slavery, over 100 years of subjugation, and even today where inequity towards black people is the hallmark of every society, how can I think differently? The Hebrews had 400 years of slavery in Egypt but they eventually came to their Promised Land, and today those calling themselves Jews are some of the most prosperous people on the face of the Earth.

My question is: Where is my Promised Land? When will I get there? The trials and tribulations continue, we are still in “Egypt” and the children of those who enslaved and impoverished and underdeveloped us are not even thinking about reparations. England and America funded the “return” of people to Israel where Palestinians have been disinherited and exploited by nothing less than a “rogue state” to this day; but for us, nothing. In fact, our people are basically unsafe in nearly every part of the earth and the moment they feel settled and comfortable in any space, beware. Sudden destruction like the Windrush scandal in the UK and the iniquitous emboldening of racist rhetoric and intolerance in the US.

Those symbolise the axis of evil more than anywhere else for our people: the United Kingdom, Amerikkka and Europe.

Anyway, it will soon be done because even this punishment for nearly 400 years – for sins we know not – must end.

So let’s sing:

“Beulah Land, I’m longing for you

And some day on thee I’ll stand

There my home shall be eternal.

Beulah Land, sweet Beulah land.

I’m looking now across the river

Where my faith will end in sight.

There’s just a few more days to labour

Then I will take my heavenly flight”.

“It soon be done

With troubles and trials

When I get home on the Other Side.

I’m gonna shake my hands with the elders,

Tell all the people ‘Good morning,’,

Sit down beside my Jesus.

I’m gonna siddown and rest a little while.”

“Faithful to death, says our loving Master.

A few more days to labour and wait;

Toils of the world will then seem as nothing

As we sweep through the Beautiful Gate.

Farther along we’ll know all about it,

Father along we’ll understand why.

Cheer up, My brother, live in the sunshine.

We’ll understand it all by and by.”

“I said roll, Jordan, roll

Roll, Jordan, roll!

My soul will rise in Heaven, Lord

In the year when Jordan roll.”

“Some glad morning when this life is o’er

I’ll fly away

To a home on God’s celestial shore,

I’ll fly away.

I’ll fly away, Oh Glory,

I’ll fly away (in the morning)

When I die, Hallelujah

By and By

I’ll fly away.”

“If I had the wings of a dove

If I had the wings of a dove

I would fly

Fly away

Fly away

And be at rest.”










Leave a comment